Keynote Speakers


Pasquale Arpaia
University of Sannio, Benevento, Italy
European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)

"Beyond the Higgs boson hunting: high-­performance instrumentation and measurement technologies for testing and tuning particle accelerators at CERN"

Pasquale Arpaia Photo

Pasquale Arpaia received MD and PhD in Electrical Engineering at University of Napoli Federico II (Italy). He is professor of Instrumentation and Measurements at University of Sannio and also Team Leader at European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN). He was also scientific associate at Engine Institute and Biomedical Engineering Institute of Italian Council of National Research.

He is Associate Editor of the Elsevier Journal Computer Standards & Interfaces, and in the past also of IEEE Transactions on Electronics Packaging and Manufacturing. He acted as scientific evaluator in several international research call panels. He has served as organizing and scientific committee member in IEEE and IMEKO Conferences. He was invited and keynote speaker to several international conferences. In the last years, he was scientific responsible of more than 30 awarded research projects in cooperation with industry and CERN, with related patents and licences, and funded 4 academic spin-­‐off companies.

His main research interests include high-­‐precision digital instrumentation and transducers for measurements in particle accelerators, evolutionary diagnostics, distributed measurement systems, ADC modelling and testing. In these fields, he published 2 books, several book chapters, and more than 180 scientific papers in journals and national and international conference proceedings. His PhD students were awarded in 2006 and 2010 at IEEE I2MTC, and in 2012 at IMEKO World Conferences.

David R. Leibrandt
National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA
Time and Frequency Division

"Optical atomic clocks - measurement at the 17th decimal place"

David R. Leibrandt received a B.S.E. in Engineering Physics from the University of Michigan in 2004 and a Ph.D. in Physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2009.  Since 2009, he has been with the Time and Frequency Division of the National Institute of Standards and Technology in Boulder, Colorado.

David's research interests focus on the development and applications of optical atomic clocks.  He has contributed to the development of optical atomic clocks based on quantum-logic spectroscopy of single, trapped aluminum ions as well as laser frequency stabilization based on robust, portable optical cavities and spectral-hole burning.  David has over 20 technical publications and received a Postdoctoral Research Fellowship from the National Research Council.

Thomas Linnenbrink - 2014 Keithley Award Winner
Teqovations, LLC, USA

"Realizing the Inherent Performance of Modern ADCs in Real Systems"

Linnenbrink Photo

Thomas E. Linnenbrink received a BSEE in 1967 from the Illinois Institute of Technology and a MS in Engineering Science with emphasis in automatic Control from the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in 1971.

He co-founded Q-DOT, Inc., in 1977 to develop signal generation, data acquisition, and signal processing equipment based on unique, custom integrated circuits, initially in high-speed charge-coupled device (CCD) technology, then in advanced SiGe BiCMOS.  Mr. Linnenbrink and Q-DOT continually advanced the state-of-the-art in data conversion with CCD and SiGe BiCMOS technology.  Q-DOT became a wholly owned subsidiary of Simtek Corp. in 2001.  Mr. Linnenbrink was CEO, President, and Technical Director of Q-DOT from 1977 until 2005 when it was sold to Hittite Microwave Corp. He served as Consulting Engineer and Business Development Manager with Hittite from 2005 until he retired in January 2013. In 2013, he founded Teqnovations, LLC to develop innovative electronics for data acquisition and signal generation. 

He has been active in the IEEE Instrumentation and Measurement Society’s Waveform Generation, Measurement, and Analysis Committee (TC-10) since its inception in 1977, serving as its chairman from 1997 through October 2013. With his leadership, TC-10 revised the standard for digitizing waveform recorders and developed standards for ADCs, DACs, high-frequency instrumentation probes, and pulse terminology, and plans to develop a standard on jitter.

Mr. Linnenbrink received the IEEE IMS Technical Award in 2008 for his leadership of TC-10.  He became a Fellow of the IEEE in 2012. He holds twelve patents (including one pioneer patent) and has one pending.